Clear all

Tactics for CSIA L3 Teaching Component

Page 1 / 10

(@geepers)
Reputable Member Secret Snow Sliding Society
Science Friction Club
Secret Snow Sliding Society
Topic starter  

Some items and queries from recent weeks on snow preparing for CSIA L3 teaching assessment. Not having worked as an instructor I found this challenging. (Then again, only 3 of 15 full time instructors passed their teach so it's probably a challenge regardless.)

What I think I learnt:

1. Some quick intro to show you are aware of learning contract and need to review the situation, and depending on where you are in order of people being assessed. Seems to work best by making some assumptions: "Had a chance to meet each of you, Fred, Mary, Joe, on the chair on the way up. Saw you'd already had a warm up run and you're  keen to get into advanced parallels on this great snow. Let's head to xyz run and on the way focus on getting mobile in your joints. Follow me." (If you have a naturally quiet voice speak up - oldies can be hard of hearing.)    

2. Assess the students before proposing any ski improvement drills. Would seem straightforward but some folk went, bang, into a drill. Didn't seem to work.

3. When assessing, give the students parameters in which to perform the task that will be assessed. For example: "Advanced parallel turns, at a constant advanced speed, 1/3 of the width of this run, rounded turn shape throughout - watch my demo." Then there's something to assess against - did they maintain speed / turn shape / track width? If not, why not?

4. Assess students one at a time (to prevent own confusion), over enough turns to get a good look at their skiing, and give brief, immediate feedback. If doing this as a question best not allow the witness to deny reality. "Did you notice your track width getting wider and wider down the run? That's from ..." Brevity seems to be favoured.